Summer Jar Salad

I think this is one of the reasons I started this blog. This salad isn’t anything new or anything you can’t find similar if you look on the internet, BUT it is a pre-laid out, Weight Watchers-friendly vegan salad in a jar, so it could be your starting point! It comes in at 9 smart points, but that is with the dressing! It tastes so good that my boyfriend had it for lunch today (after looking at it skeptically) and texted me “Thank you lunch was amazing”.  It has healthy fats, beans and wheat berries, and a nice serving of veggies. If nothing else, consider trying jar salad because chances are you’ll like it!

Shout out to my friend Jamie for mentioning my blog and jar salads, which I actually started making because hers look so good. Last year I made this with quinoa, but I think I prefer the wheat berries. I might also use faro to change it up.

It’s important that you shake this really well so that everything mixes well, and then I let it sit upside down. As Jamie also mentioned when she talked about jar salads, it’s helpful to have somewhere to dump it. 🙂

20170730_203910

Summer Jar Salad

Serves 4

(Should last for about 3 days, eat three and give the other to someone you like)

Ingredients

16 tsp Garlic Expressions (1 T and 1 t per jar)
1 avocado, quartered and diced
1 cup black beans, drained and rinsed
2 cups cherry tomatoes, halved or quartered (I use the orange ones)
1 red bell pepper chopped
2 cups cooked wheat berries, cooled (for the cooking liquid, I did 1/2 cup apple cider vinegar for some zing)
8 cups arugula

Nutrition

372 Calories
Protein 14 g
Carbohydrate 54 g
Dietary Fiber 13 g
Total Sugars 11 g
Total Fat 14 g
Saturated Fat 1 g

Directions

  1. Get four large jars that are clean. Put the avocado in and then put the dressing over it immediately (be sure it’s shaken too). Shake to be sure the avocado is mostly flat in the jar.
  2. Layer the ingredients in their order, dividing evenly among the jars. Refrigerate. Eat. Count the minutes to your next lunch.

Health and joy,

alex

Leave a Reply

