Nutty Farro Salad

Awhile ago, I bought two cookbooks. One was the Skinnytaste Fast and Slow, and the other’s was Oprah’s, Food, Health and Happiness. They are both great for different reasons: the first has meals that are straightforward and easy, and the Oprah cookbook is sophisticated and elegant, like you might expect from Oprah. The ingredients are not always easily accessible, but they are special meals that you could make for others that would be impressive and not easily identified as healthy.

This brings me to my love of farro. One of the first recipes that caught my eye in Oprah’s cookbook was Charlie Bird’s Farro Salad, and two things really intrigued me about this recipe. One was that the farro was cooked in some apple cider, and the second was the use of pistachios. Whenever I make my farro, I feel like I have to add a ton of olive oil to give it the right amount of flavor, and I avoid doing that. So yesterday, I swapped out some water for apple cider vinegar in the cooking process, and WOW, I couldn’t stop eating it before I put anything else on it, just like mentioned in the review in the link above. To be fair, I LOVE tangy foods, so if you don’t love vinegar, reduce the amount you use in cooking.

The pistachios also add that next level sophistication that make me feel indulgent. The nuttiness of the farro is well complimented by the crunch and additional nuttiness of the pistachios. Throw in some veggies and it’s a fresh, fancy salad.

This came out to 7 smart points in the recipe builder.

20170709_211744

Nutty Farro Salad

Serves 4

Ingredients

1 cup dry farro
1 cup apple cider vinegar*
1 1/2 cups water*
1 yellow bell pepper, chopped
1 cup green onions, chopped
1 cup cherry tomatoes, halved
3 T crushed pistachios** (I put them in a baggie and smashed them, but you could chop them too)
1 T olive oil
1 tsp lemon juice
Salt and pepper to taste

Nutrition

244 Calories
Protein 9 g
Carbohydrate 39 g
Dietary Fiber 5 g
Total Sugars 2 g
Added Sugars 0 g
Total Fat 6 g
Saturated Fat 1 g

Directions

  1. Cook farro according to directions, substituting the liquid with vinegar and water. Cook less time for a chewier texture.  Use less vinegar for a less tangy salad.
  2. Drain off any remaining liquid. Mix in remaining ingredients and chill or serve immediately. **If serving later, add in pistachio right before serving.

Like in the Charlie Bird recipe, you could serve this with greens mixed in.
Health and joy,

alex

Leave a Reply

