Aloo Mutter- Potato and Pea Curry

If you read my last post you might remember that we recently went to an Indian restaurant called Dosa Corner. I haven’t really been able to stop thinking about what I ordered there- it was a wonderful curry dish with tender potatoes and peas. I ate it with perfect rice, rice that I feel I will never be able to recreate, and the most wonderful garlic naan.  I knew that I wanted to perfect my version of this before the school year starts back up, so here it is.

I looked up quite a few recipes for this- some use tomatoes and others don’t. I based mine off of this recipe– I just used less oil, left the skins on, used more peas for convenience and added a few spices that I had to sub for Garam Masala.   If you don’t care for tomatoes, it doesn’t matter because you can’t taste them. This comes together pretty quickly in a skillet (about 20 minutes of simmering). If you want more tender potatoes however, it will take longer. My last recommendation for this is that you have all of the ingredients measured out before hand.

Disclaimer- Aloo Mutter gets spelled lots of different ways, and I am not sure of the proper spelling. It tastes amazing, though. 

I also prefer to have lighter lunches, so for me, I am using riced cauliflower instead of actual rice.  For the way I have this shown, I used a whole head of cauliflower for three make ahead meals. For convenience, nutrition information does not include the rice OR cauliflower.  This came out to be  7 smart points in the recipe builder. Enjoy!

20170630_142818

Aloo Mutter

Serves 3

Ingredients

1 TBSP of olive oil
1 tsp ground cumin
1 large red onion, minced
2 red skin potatoes, diced into small bite size pieces (skin off if you prefer)
1 10 oz package of frozen green peas
1 tsp of ginger, finely grated
3 cloves of garlic, minced
1 serrano pepper, minced
1 large fresh tomato, pureed
Salt (about 1/4 tsp or more to taste)
1 tsp chili powder
1/2 tsp Tumeric
1 tsp ground coriander
1/2 tsp cumin (in addition)
1 cup water
1/4 tsp each: Cinnamon, allspice, pepper, nutmeg, cardamom and cayenne
1/4 cup cilantro, finely chopped

Nutrition

331 Calories
Protein 9 g
Carbohydrate 64 g
Dietary Fiber 10 g
Total Sugars 10 g
Added Sugars 0 g
Total Fat 5 g
Saturated Fat 1 g

Directions

  1. Heat the oil over high heat. Add the first tsp of cumin, and stir until fragrant.
  2. Add in the onions and cook until onions become transparent. Then add in ginger, garlic and the Serrano pepper. Mix well and saute for a minute.
  3. Add the pureed tomato, cook until most of the liquid is gone. Add the rest of the spices and cook for one more minute. Add the potatoes and peas.
  4. Add water and mix well. Cover and reduce to a simmer (low). Let simmer for 20 minutes or more, until potatoes are at desired tenderness. If thicker gravy is desired, let lid off the last 5 minutes of cooking/ and or use an immersion blender to puree a part of the stew.
  5. Stir in cilantro leaves.

**For my meals, I spooned in the cauliflower first and then the Aloo Mutter.

Health and joy,

alex

Leave a Reply

