White Bean Tacos with Carrot Slaw

A few weeks ago, my boyfriend, sister and I were having brunch at a local place called Northstar Cafe. My sister and I are huge fans of this place- healthy, fresh food that’s organic. I’m not a huge organic person, but I do like that they use ingredients from local vendors. Anyways, they have quotes on each of the numbers that they hand out so they know where each order goes, and ours said something close to this:

Michael Pollan says everything he’s learned about food and health can be summed up in seven words: “Eat food, not too much, mostly plants.”

My boyfriend asked me if I agreed, and I quickly said yes. “Really?” he said. And I said “Yeah, really. That’s what I try to do, grains, fresh vegetables and greens, fruits and some nuts.” He was like “Yeah, okay, I guess I was thinking like mostly spinach.”

I think that is how most people feel when they think of eating plants. What makes this so fitting is that we more recently watched a documentary called “What the Health”, which makes a decent argument for a vegan diet. It made me reflect about the cheese I eat and my occasional steak and had  I thoughts of changing a few things. But my boyfriend, who previously has eaten meat at nearly every meal, drinks copious amounts of whole milk and loves ranch dressing for dipping had a really interesting reaction: he has basically gone vegan overnight.  I am not sure that he will be strict or stick with it, but I do think the way he looks at food has changed.

My favorite part about this is seeing him eat things that I eat all of the time and enjoying them. He seems to have a new love of vegetables (and sunflower seeds), nearly matching his well established love of fruit. I have been taking advantage of this: Monday night, we went to a vegetarian Indian restaurant that I have been wanting to try for awhile (Dosa Corner). If you live in Columbus and like Indian, go check it out! I can’t wait to get carryout from there next time.

And today, I used his recent lunch order at a Mexican restaurant as a springboard for my lunch. These were made from ingredients I had on hand, and they have maybe an Indian flair ( I wonder why?). The carrots add some crunch, the sauteed onions add some sweetness, and the guacamole salsa adds that vegan creaminess and spice. It should save well for a few days- and make a wonderful lunch.  This came out to 9 smart points in the Weight Watchers recipe builder.

20170628_112427

White Bean Tacos with Carrot Slaw

Serves 4

Ingredients

1 T. of olive oil
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 white onion, finely chopped
1/4 t. ground coriander
1/4 t. oregano
1/4 t. onion powder
1/4 t. salt, or to taste
1/2 t. cumin
1 can of white beans, drained and rinsed
2 carrots, finely grated
Juice from one lemon
1 T. fresh basil, thinly sliced
4 T. Herdez Guacamole Salsa
4 tortillas or wraps (nutrition info with Carb Balance Soft Flour Taco)

Nutrition

361 calories
Protein 16 g
Carbohydrate 53 g
Dietary Fiber 21.2 g
Total Sugars 3 g
Total Fat 9 g
Saturated Fat 2.2 g
(includes tortilla and guacamole salsa)

Directions

  1. In a large skillet, add olive oil, garlic and onion. Saute over medium heat until soft and beginning to brown.
  2. Meanwhile, combine carrots, lemon juice and basil in a separate bowl.
  3. Add in spices, and mix well. Then add in beans, and continue to heat until onions are brown and beans are heated through and have some brown spots.
  4. Each taco gets about 1 cup of bean mixture, 1/3 of carrot mixture and 1 T. of guacamole salsa.

Enjoy!

Health and joy,

alex

Leave a Reply

