Lighter Vegetarian Taco Salad

This Summer has been flying by- I have done something with a friend every day this week, and when you throw in working out, naps, Pintrest projects, golf, reading and playing the trumpet, the days are moving by quickly. But alas, I want to plan ahead my lunch meals for next week, so here I am.

20170614_170111
My new wreath. A fun little project this week.

Today’s recipe was inspired by something I get at a local spot of ours called Rusty Bucket. They have all sorts of food, but this is the thing I can’t stop thinking about and don’t feel super guilty about ordering.

Taco Salad

A Crisp tortilla with seasoned ground beef, refried beans, cheddar cheese, shredded lettuce, jalapenos, and tomatoes all lightly tossed with cilantro ranch dressing. Topped with sour cream drizzle, salsa, fresh cilantro, and scallions.

To be fair, I ask for no tortilla and no cheese, but it’s a very filling and rich meal. I think it’s because of the beans! I also like how the lettuce is the really thinly cut iceberg, and how the dressing is really light and barely there. The jalapenos also add a really nice pop of flavor and kick.

This version doesn’t have any beef which makes it super quick and easy to make, but is still very filling! I just had it and am very happy with this 7 smart point lunch. Just the right amount of guilt, but still fresh, creamy, crunchy, spicy and even a few servings of veggies!

20170616_115637
The sour cream didn’t really drizzle because my Kroger was out of the Horizon Sour Cream- which would normally drizzle perfectly.

So this is my take on how to make this- I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

Note: Cheese is certainly a welcome addition, I just don’t find that I miss it with all of these other wonderful flavors. If I were in a splurge-y mood, I would melt it on top of the refried beans before adding the lettuce topping.

Lighter Vegetarian Taco Salad

Serves two

Ingredients

For the Dressing 
I used Kroger Lite Creamy Ranch and a tiny bit of the Kroger Lite Southwest Ranch
The dressing should be very light (about 3 tbsp total)

For the Salad
1 cup of refried beans (I used Old El Paso Vegetarian)
4 cups shredded iceberg lettuce (I buy this in the bag at the store- or you can run it through the food processor really quickly)
2 tbsp of cilantro,  leaves stripped off of the stem
2 Scallions, chopped
2 tbsp of diced, jarred jalapenos (or more to taste)
1 tomato, chopped
Salsa (about 1/2 cup)
2 tbsp light sour cream (I use Horizon Light)- optional

Nutrition

**Estimated with light ranch dressing and regular sour cream
248 Calories
Protein 10 g
Carbohydrate 34 g
Dietary Fiber 10 g
Total Sugars 12 g
Added Sugars 2 g
Total Fat 9 g
Saturated Fat 2 g

Directions

  1. Spread refried beans on a microwave safe plate.  Microwave beans until heated through.
  2. While this is heating, mix lettuce, jalapenos, cilantro, tomatoes and scallions in a large bowl. Toss with dressing of your choice and mix well. Set aside.
  3. Top heated beans with 1/2 of lettuce mixture, then salsa, then sour cream.
  4. Enjoy the delicious mixture!**Note: If you wanted to pack this for work, it’s still very doable. I would put the beans in the bottom of a glass container large enough to make the salad in, then just dump the other ingredients on top after I microwaved the beans. It’s a party in every bite! I would also have separate containers for the salsa, sour cream and dressing. It seems like a lot of work, but when your lunch tastes good and is healthy, it’s worth it.

Health and joy,

alex

Leave a Reply

