Pineapple Mango Salsa

I am on my patio, looking at my flowers and listening to the chirping birds as I type this, and my dog is happy for the chance to escape the dreaded dishwasher. I am on Summer break! Somehow, I haven’t felt like it’s been much of a break yet because I have been keeping busy and tending to things that I ignored through the school year. For example, I found some really interesting things in the fridge as I was cleaning it out, and my car is now worthy of other people sitting in it.  I also am pretty satisfied with my garden, which took a bit of effort.

20170609_143036
Kinley is very afraid of the dishwasher. This is her “Please don’t make me come in” face.

It’s been awhile since I posted, but that’s mainly because my last recipe didn’t turn out how I envisioned. Stay tuned for a vegan cilantro pesto pasta dish, because I can’t get the thought out of my head. The initial attempt was decent, but not worthy of this blog.

What I am sharing with you today is not something I came up with, and if I knew who did, I would share their name with you. I found this recipe in Kroger a few years ago sitting out next to the pineapples. And it’s become one of my favorite things to make in the summer. When I saw it, I was a little skeptical of how all of the flavors would fit together, but since I love each of the ingredients alone, I figured I would give it a shot.

It’s juicy, fresh, spicy, sweet and basically addicting. It’s meant to be served with chips, but I only do that when I take it to a party, because otherwise I would sit and eat it all until it was gone. I use is as a taco topping, as a side salad, or just as a snack.

Note:* If you aren’t familiar with picking out a mango or cutting it, these are links that I find helpful. Also, make sure you have a ripe pineapple– the fruit makes it amazing.
**These are about the amounts I use of each, but feel free to change to whatever suits you. Maybe use the whole pineapple and bunch of cilantro, and add in more lime juice.

20170609_141741.jpg

Pineapple Mango Salsa

8 servings

Ingredients

1/2 large red onion, minced
1 mango, diced
About 1/2 a ripe pineapple, finely diced
1/2 cup cilantro, finely chopped
1 jalapeno, minced (remove seeds to lower the heat)
Juice from 1 lime
Salt to taste

Nutrition

53 Calories
Protein 1 g
Carbohydrate 14 g
Dietary Fiber 2 g
Total Sugars 10 g
Added Sugars 0 g
Total Fat 0 g
Saturated Fat 0 g

Directions

  1. Mix ingredients together and enjoy!
  2. If using a food processor, I add in this order and pulse: Cilantro, jalapeno, red onion- empty into mixing bowl, then pulse chunks of pineapple. Add in hand cut mango, lime juice and salt to taste.

Health and joy,

alex

Leave a Reply

