Casseretti

So it’s been awhile since I have posted a recipe. I have had a few duds– recipes which didn’t really turned out how I envisioned. Thursday night ended with a dry, but super high protein coffee cake. I was so bummed because it smelled so good, but the texture didn’t work. And I’ve also been making recipes that are just good and shouldn’t be touched, like a Cajun chicken pasta from Skinnytaste.

The recipe from tonight is like a lot of things I really like- it sounds kind of weird but it turns out SOOO good. Growing up, there is this recipe called chicken marbella that we called Weird Chicken. Now that I’m a little older, it doesn’t sound so weird, but capers and prunes with chicken? Yeah, it’s so good.  My point is, good things sometimes come in odd packages.

Just like grape flavor doesn’t really remind me of grapes, fat-free cream of mushroom soup doesn’t remind me of mushrooms. Whatever is in it, it goes really well with celery, bell peppers, onion and chicken.  I have never made a casserole with spaghetti before, but it worked out deliciously.  I got this recipe by word of mouth, and neither of the people who told me about it knew the name. So, a random casserole with spaghetti can now go by casseretti. It’s rich and light at the same time- hard to explain, but perfect comfort food with a nice serving of veggies. Enjoy!

20170430_191029

Casseretti

Serves 6

Ingredients

2 cups shredded rotisserie chicken breast (or other shredded chicken)
3 celery stalks, minced or sliced thin (minced for less crunch)
1 medium white onion, chopped
1 red bell pepper
1 orange bell pepper
2 cans fat free cream of mushroom soup
1 cup chicken broth
8 oz. spaghetti, broken up into 1/4 length pieces
Salt and pepper to taste
3/4 C. reduced fat cheese (I used Mexican, but cheddar would work well too)

Nutrition

374 Calories
Protein 28 g
Carbohydrate 34 g
Dietary Fiber 4 g
Total Sugars 4 g
Added Sugars 0 g
Total Fat 10 g
Saturated Fat 4.3 g

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Mix all ingredients except cheese in a bowl, and season with salt and pepper to taste.
  3. Spray a large glass pan with Pam. Place into pan. Top with cheese.
  4. Bake for about 30 minutes.

 

Have a great week!

Health and joy,

alex

Leave a Reply

