Al’s Chicken Parm

This recipe goes out to a wonderful lady at work, who is always very supportive of this blog! She suggested this- and it sounded great to me, so this is what I spent some of my Saturday trying to figure out. I looked several places for inspiration, but I ended up sort of mixing a recipe on Jamie Oliver’s site with what I found in my Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook (they also have a helpful video). While looking at recipes, I noticed that a lot of them just use regular bread crumbs, but if I ever fry anything, I use Panko bread crumbs.

20170415_184457
I needed this cheese. A perfect mix of protein and guilt.

The other trend I saw was using regular spaghetti sauce to save time, but the recipes that I found to make your own sauce sounded really good. Except for the fact that they called for diced tomatoes. When I think of sauce that sounds good, I like a thick sauce. So I used crushed tomatoes.

There also seems to be a debate about using olive oil or butter for the frying portion. I split the difference by using Smart Balance Light, which as far as I can tell is basically butter flavored oil.

Last but not least, I couldn’t help but notice that it seems that most of the time, mozzarella got more attention than the actual Parmesan cheese. I know you need less because it’s more pungent, but isn’t that the namesake of the food?! So, like the recipe from Jamie Oliver’s website, I used straight up shredded Parmesan cheese and not just the grated Parmesan in the breading. And since I had my boyfriend make a special trip for this cheese, we decided to get the fancy stuff, from right by the olive bar. It was an excellent decision.

Make your own sauce. It’s well worth it!

 

Al’s Chicken Parm

Serves 2-4 People
(as many pieces of chicken as you get)

Ingredients

About 1 lb boneless skinless chicken breast
2-3 T Smart Balance Light (add as needed)
1/2 cup mozzarella cheese
1/4 cup shredded Parmesan cheese

For the sauce** Double this if you like sauce
1 tsp olive oil
1 clove garlic, minced
1 small onion, finely chopped
1 14.5 can crushed tomatoes
1/2 tsp sugar
1/8 tsp salt
Dash black pepper
1/4 fresh, coarsely chopped basil

For the breading
1/3 cup Panko seasoned bread crumbs
2 T grated Parmesan cheese
1/2 tsp dried oregano

For the coating
1 egg, beaten
1 T skim milk

Nutrition

9 Smart Points for 3 servings

For 4 servings
 326 Calories
Protein 38 g
Carbohydrate 8 g
Dietary Fiber 1 g
Total Sugars 2 g
Added Sugars 0 g
Total Fat 14 g
Saturated Fat 6 g

Directions

  1. Prepare all ingredients. This will make everything go smoother.
  2. For the sauce, use 1 tsp of olive oil to soften garlic and onion. Add in crushed tomatoes, sugar, salt and pepper. Cover and simmer for about 10 minutes.
  3. While sauce is simmering, pound chicken between plastic wrap with the flat side of a meat mallet, until 1/4 inch thick. Stir basil in to sauce, keep warm.
  4. On a plate or shallow dish, mix bread crumbs, the grated Parmesan cheese and the oregano. In a bowl, mix egg and milk. Dip each piece of chicken into egg mixture, then carefully coat in bread crumbs.
  5. In a large skillet, melt “butter” over medium heat. Cook chicken for two to three minutes on each side, or until golden. Transfer chicken to a plate, place about 2 T of sauce of each chicken breast, then top pieces with mixture of shredded and mozzarella cheese evenly. Place back in skillet with lid, and wait about one minute, or until cheese melts. Serve over spaghetti or zoodles.

Here is what I did the rest of my Saturday!

20170417_163619

Health and joy,

alex

Leave a Reply

