Mint Quinoa Salad

Oh dear.

We just got back from a week in Mexico, and it’s back to reality tomorrow. The beach was beautiful- I love Puerto Vallarta because when you’re on the beach, you’re also looking at mountains. We stayed at the Hyatt Ziva and if you are looking for a place to go, I highly recommend it. The only suggestion I have is to bring your own pillow because theirs didn’t offer much support. But everyone who worked there was more than happy to be serving us, and some of the food was amazing. 20170322_183819

Before we get to the food part, I have a side note. If you ever get stung by a jellyfish, don’t pee on it. After I got stung this trip (it’s my fourth sting- it’s just been awhile), I was not a happy camper, and everyone had their own suggestion: pee, hot sand, lime juice, baking soda, oatmeal and tomato juice were all suggested. After a quick search, we decided to opt for vinegar. I am not sure how much it really helped, but I smelled great for a day. Thank goodness we also had our Chipotle rewards card readily available to try and scrape out the stingers and some Ibuprofen.

As for the back to reality part, I am glad to be eating my own food. I had a lot of things I wouldn’t normally have, like unlimited guacamole, chips and salsa, as well as pizza for lunch most days.  So while it was nice to take a break from “eating healthy” (which I do, like, every weekend), it also made me realize how much what I eat impacts how I feel.

The resort had lots of splurge-worthy foods, however, they also did a wonderful job with fresh ingredients. The salad I had before my pizza each time was the perfect mix of a light, oil based dressing with arugula, tomatoes, onions, Parmesan cheese and thinly sliced green apples.  The thing that I decided I wanted for lunch though is the quinoa appetizer I can’t stop thinking about.

So this week for lunch, I am keeping it very simple. This recipe is so simple, it doesn’t even have any garlic! I think that might be a first for my recipes. Now that Spring is here, it will be nice to have a room temperature dish at lunch. The mint I bought for this recipe was two dollars at Kroger, so I guess I’ll be adding it to my water all week.

20170326_150429

Mint Quinoa Salad
Serves 4
6 smart points

Nutrition

236 Calories
Protein 7 g
Carbohydrate 35 g
Dietary Fiber 6 g
Total Sugars 6 g
Added Sugars 0 g
Total Fat 8 g
Saturated Fat 1 g

Ingredients

1 cup dry quinoa (I used a mixture of red and white)
1 cup cherry tomatoes, finely chopped
1 medium onion, finely chopped
1 medium bell pepper, finely chopped
A handful of fresh mint leaves, finely chopped
1.5 T olive oil
2 tsp lemon juice, freshly squeezed
Salt and pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Cook quinoa following package instructions.
  2. While quinoa is simmering, chop vegetables and mint and place in large bowl.
  3. After quinoa is finished cooking, pour into mixing bowl while still warm and mix well. Stir in olive oil and lemon juice, and season with salt and pepper to taste.
  4. Refrigerate overnight for the best flavor.

Note: I plan on eating this on a bed of arugula (as pictured). You might also add some beans for some more protein.

Health and joy,

alex

Leave a Reply

