Chicken Bacon Spinach Bubble Up

These last few weeks have been crazy with lots of extra daily tasks and major life changes. Yesterday saw (hopefully) the completion of the last major task for awhile: the buying of a very nice used car. As promised, this blog came last so I’m just now catching up to it, but that doesn’t mean I haven’t been busy in the kitchen.

As seems to be the case recently, this recipe is based off of a combination of a craving and something cool I saw on Weight Watcher’s Connect. As with crack slaw, apparently now bubble ups are all of the rage. I spent some time looking up what a “bubble up” was,  and I have found that it’s basically a combination of protein, vegetables, and sauce topped with some biscuits or other component that rises.  The first one I saw was for a meatball sub bubble up and I might make it soon, but it just wasn’t what I wanted.

A few weekends ago we went to Sur La Table and took a cooking class for chicken pot pie. Although I enjoyed the class, it didn’t really hit the spot for what I was picturing as a chicken pot pie. Maybe some of that was the fact that something happened with the dough, and I didn’t get the have a flaky pastry on top of my pot pie.

I thought about making this into a chicken pot pie bubble up, but if you’re looking for a recipe like that there are plenty of those out there. The thing I did learn that Sur La Table and that I hope I don’t forget is how much I like a rutabaga (a cross between a cabbage and a turnip).  I kept trying to think about what and new creative combination would be for a bubble up,  and I decided that I would base mine off of a chicken flatbread I had at some restaurant.20170227_164955

I had bought the stuff last Saturday to make this, and didn’t get a chance
to make it until last Monday night. I kept telling my boyfriend how excited I was about it and how good it was going to be and he just kept sort of nodding and shaking me off. Then when I brought him a portion, he said he wasn’t super hungry but took a bite and said, “Oh my gosh, you’re right, this is really good”. He had another soon after.

Sauteing onions and red peppers beforehand gives it a really great flavor. If you’re watching your sodium intake, use less cream of chicken soup  or instead, use reduced sodium chicken broth. The Parmesan and oregano added near the end to give it a really pretty brown color that also gives it a great flavor.

Note: I am the kind of person who likes things a little doughy,  so if you don’t like doughy biscuits, then you should flip these about half-way through. You could also wait until the liquid is bubbling in the casserole and then add the biscuits on after that. This will allow for them to cook on both sides and be more flaky than gooey.

 

Chicken Bacon Spinach Bubble Up
Serves 6- 8 Smart Points

Ingredients

1 teaspoon olive oil
1 medium onion
1 medium red bell pepper
3 cloves garlic
4 tablespoons Hormel bacon bits
10 ounces rotisserie chicken, shredded
About 2 cups of spinach roughly cut
1/2  cup of light Alfredo sauce
1 cup of 98% fat free cream of chicken soup, canned
1 tablespoon of water
6 Oz biscuit dough
1 tablespoon of Parmesan cheese, grated
1 tsp oregano or italian seasoning mix
1 cup part-skim mozzarella cheese, divided
Green onions for garnish

Nutrition

264 Calories
Saturated Fat 34 Calories
Protein 23 g
Carbohydrate 17 g
Dietary Fiber 1 g
Total Sugars 4 g
Added Sugars 1 g
Total Fat 11.5 g
Saturated Fat 4 g

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit. Spray an 11×17 inch baking dish and set aside. 20170227_161322
  2. Heat oil in a medium skillet. Saute garlic, then add onion, red pepper and the bacon bits. Heat until soft and fragrant. Add spinach and stir until wilted. Pour into a large mixing bowl.
  3. To make sauce, combine condensed soup with Alfredo sauce. Add in 1 T of water to thin out. Reserve 1/4 cup for later.
  4. In large mixing bowl, combine 1/2 cup mozzarella, chicken, and vegetable mix. Stir in most of sauce and mix well. Pour into baking dish.
  5. Break up biscuits into smaller pieces and place in previously used mixing bowl. Toss in sauce and place evenly in baking dish.
  6. Bake for about 15 minutes, then evenly sprinkle remaining mozzarella cheese, along with grated Parmesan and oregano. Continue baking until golden brown, another 5-10 minutes.
  7. Let cool for 5 minutes, garnish, then enjoy! 20170227_164153

Hope you like this as much as I did!

Health and joy,

alex

 

Leave a Reply

