Carrot and Black Bean Stir-Fry

A week or so ago, I made a “Crack Slaw” recipe from LaaLoosh and modified it to more of an Indian-curry flavor and used lean beef instead of turkey or chicken. It’s very easy to personalize and comes together quickly. I am not a big fan of the name, but it is a very filling, tasty dish.

Today, I decided to take it a step forward and thought about how I could get the flavor similar to what I make myself when I go to bd’s Mongolian Grill. I never get meat when I go there- the people working the grill make fun of me for getting a hot salad, and I am here to tell you, I love my hot salad.

One of my favorite flavors at bd’s is ginger. I also LOVE the salad dressing they give you at Japanese Steakhouses- and the best way I could think to get this flavor is with the Makoto Ginger Dressing. I also added PB2, which is great for adding peanut flavor. I enjoy regular peanut butter too much to ever make the paste, but it makes some people happy. I mix mine with smoothies, pancakes, and Halo Top Ice-cream.

If you like a ginger, nutty and slightly spicy flavor with a crunchy and creamy texture, this is a great dish for lunch with a lot of flavor and nutrients.20170212_103327

Carrot and Black Bean Stir-Fry

Serves 4

Ingredients

4 medium carrots
8 oz cole slaw mix
1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
3 cloves of garlic
1/4 cup Makoto Ginger Dressing
1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
3 T soy sauce (regular, or reduced sodium)
4 T PB2 (or any other powdered peanut butter)
1 t sesame oil
Sriracha chili sauce to taste (about 1 T)
1 bunch green onions, chopped

Nutrition

287 Calories
Protein 15.5 g
Carbohydrate 45 g
Dietary Fiber 15 g
Total Sugars 7.5 g
Added Sugars 0 g
Total Fat 5.5 g
Saturated fat .5 g

 

Directions

  1. Shred carrots with food processor. Place in large skillet and heat over medium heat.
  2. While carrots are heating up, mince garlic in food processor. Stir in, along with coleslaw mix. Add sesame oil and stir.
  3. Heat for about 5 minutes, until vegetables begin to feel warm. Meanwhile, mix vinegar, ginger dressing and soy sauce. Pour over veggies and add in black beans.
  4. Heat until desired tenderness, then mix in PB2 and stir until well mixed. Lastly, add Sriracha to taste (I used a little more than 1 tbsp).
  5. Garnish with green onion.

Note: For a slightly different flavor you could add in cilantro. Bean sprouts would also be a great addition. If you have sesame seeds, they would be a nice garnish. Additionally, you could also spiralize the carrots if your spiralizer is capable.

Hope you enjoy it!

Health and joy,

alex

 

Leave a Reply

