Mexi Chop Salad

I adore Mexican food. This past week my best friend suggested we go to a new (to us) Mexican restaurant, Chuy’s, and it seems to have just put me on another kick for Mexican food. This weekend we made chicken fajitas from LaaLoosh and a salad with a Kroger salad dressing I had never tried before, Lite Southwestern Ranch. As I began to think about what to have for lunch this weekend, I thought of my leftover fajita chicken and my new salad dressing- and to put it together, I could make a copy of the Mexican Chop Salad recipe I LOVED from Chuy’s (with a bit of a makeover, of course). After you make the chicken, this is easy and comes together so quick. I just made my second salad in about 3 minutes. Lots of vegetables, healthy fats (avocado) and a nice serving of protein to keep you full. mexi

Between this and my Burrito Bowl, you might think I’m in a rut, but I think I have just found a really excellent spot where tasty meets healthy. I think what makes it so great is that all of the flavors work together, and I get a wide variety of flavors and textures so that each bite is a surprise.

Mexi Chop Salad

Serves 2

Ingredients

For the chicken  **Will make about enough chicken for 4 or 5 salads- also great for the original fajita recipe/ tacos/ bowls
1.3 lb boneless skinless chicken breast, sliced into thin strips
4 garlic cloves, minced
Juice from 1 lime
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp chili powder
1 tsp coriander
1 tsp salt
1 tsp fresh-cracked black pepper

For the salads

6 oz. of fajita chicken, cooled
2 cups arugula
2 cups romaine, washed and torn into bite-size pieces
1 red bell pepper, chopped
1 can diced green chiles (hot or mild- I prefer hot)
1 cup pico de gallo
1/2 avocado
4 T reduced fat shredded Mexican cheese
4 T Lite Southwestern Ranch (Kroger brand) OR OPA Greek Avocado Cilantro

Nutrition

Per Serving (not including dressing)
Protein 32 g
Carbohydrate 24 g
Dietary Fiber 10 g
Total Sugars 13 g
Added Sugars 0 g
Total Fat 11 g
Saturated Fat 3 g

Directions

For Chicken:
(From LaaLoosh, slightly altered)

  1. Place 4 cloves of garlic, chili powder, coriander, cumin, juice from lime, and salt, and  black pepper in a small bowl and whisk to combine. Add the chicken and turn to coat with the marinade. Set the chicken aside for at least 10 minutes, or cover and refrigerate for up to 24 hours.
  2. Heat a grill pan to medium and spray with non-fat cooking spray. Once hot, add the chicken pieces and cook undisturbed until well browned on the bottom, about 10 minutes. Flip and repeat with other side, about 10 minutes more. Remove chicken from pan, and set aside to let cool.

To assemble salads:

Divide each of the ingredients evenly among two containers. Begin with lettuce and arugula, then follow with other ingredients. Keep cheese away from wet ingredients, and consider taking the avocado separate and not dicing it until right before serving. Store dressing in separate container.

Hope all is well-

Health and Joy,

alex

Leave a Reply

