Burrito Bowl

For well over a year now, I have been seeing meal prep burrito bowls on social media. Recently, I started to wonder why I had never taken the opportunity to make my own. I suppose it’s because all of the ones I have seen generally feature chicken, and when I go to Chipotle or Qdoba, I always get a vegetarian meal, so it never occurred to me to make any.

Then I started thinking about what it was I liked in a burrito bowl. Why is it always SOOO satisfying? For me, the star of the show is the fajita aspect (the peppers and onions), and this simple preparation does not disappoint.

What’s wonderful about this is that I make two burrito bowls at a time and they stay fresh. The components save well alone, and really the only work to be done is sautéing the peppers and onions, then layering. They come together quickly, and they have enough different flavors and textures, while being just the right amount of filling, that I don’t pack anything else for lunch with it.

So here it is. My quick, easy, fresh take on a simple, make ahead burrito bowl. It’s easy to personalize. If you would like for this to be vegan, simply don’t use the sour cream. Other easy additions that come to mind: cheese, meat, avocado or lettuce. I like to microwave mine, then squeeze on the lime and dip my fork in the sour cream as needed.

 

Burrito Bowl

Serves Two

Ingredients

1 1/2 C. cooked brown rice (I used the Uncle Ben’s microwavable kind)
3 tbsp fresh cilantro
1 cup canned black beans, NOT drained or rinsed
1/2 medium red onion, sliced into strips
1/2 red bell pepper, sliced into strips
Pam non-stick spray (olive oil)
1 C. Pico de gallo (Store made- usually need salad supplies in the vegetable area)
Dash of salt/ pepper
Lime wedges (optional)
Low-fat sour cream (optional, I used Horizon and think it makes a big difference for low-fat)

Nutrition

Total Calories 397 Calories
Added Sugars 0 Calories
Saturated Fat 12 Calories
Nutrients Amount Per Portion
Protein 15 g
Carbohydrate 79 g
Dietary Fiber 20 g
Total Sugars 11 g
Added Sugars 0 g
Total Fat 3 g
Saturated Fat 1 g

Directions

  1. In a small bowl, mix onions and peppers. Spray with some Pam for about a second. Toss to coat. Add salt and pepper to taste and toss again. Sauté over medium heat in a small pan until tender crisp, about 4 minutes.20170108_160707
  2. Layer 3/4 cup brown rice on the bottom of two containers of your choice (should have lid and be more than two cups).
  3. Sprinkle a pinch of salt and 1.5 T of fresh cilantro.
  4. Layer on 1/2 cup of black beans into each container.
  5. Split the peppers and onions evenly among the two containers.
  6. Top each container with 1/2 cup pico de gallo. Place sour cream in a small container in corner. Add lime wedge if desired.

Keep refrigerated. Can be served cold or warm, just be sure to remove lime wedge and sour cream if heating.

Enjoy!

Health and joy,

alex

One thought on “Burrito Bowl

Leave a Reply

