Broccoli Cheddar Soup

This past week I found some time to watch Cooked on Netflix. I loved it for several reasons: the science, the cultures, the beautiful shots. But what really stuck with me is how we should be more connected to our food, and take time to enjoy the process of it all. I love this idea. I love the thought of knowing who raised the pig that you are going to consume, or where your vegetables come from or that often, good things take time.

And then I come to Sunday, which is my day to cook food so that I don’t have to do it for the rest of the week. The main reason I do this is because I live alone, but it is also to save time. It is what it is- but I know exactly (almost) what is in this soup below.

I found the recipe while scrolling through Facebook this morning. It says it’s healthy, and I agree, but my mind immediately goes to “but how could I make it even better?”

After making it this afternoon, I can’t say it’s better because I never tried the first one, but I can tell you, I will be one happy girl at lunch this week.

img_0012

Broccoli Cheddar Soup
Serves 5

Ingredients

1/2 tablespoon olive oil
1 medium onion, diced
1 large head broccoli, florets and tender part of stems, chopped (about 6 cups)
1 large carrot, thinly sliced
3 cups no-salt-added chicken or vegetable broth
1 cup canned, no-salt-added Great Northern or cannellini beans, rinsed and drained
1/2 cup low-fat (1 percent) milk
2/3 cup shredded white extra-sharp cheddar cheese (2 ounces- I used Cracker Barrel)
1 teaspoon powdered mustard
1/4 teaspoon turmeric
1/2 teaspoon thyme
1/2 teaspoon oregano
1/4 pepper (or to taste)
Salt to taste

Nutrition Information

Calories 176img_0013
Protein 11 g
Carbohydrate 21 g
Dietary Fiber 6 g
Total Sugars 5 g
Added Sugars 0 g
Total Fat 6 g
Saturated Fat 3 g

Directions

1) Heat olive oil in a large pot that has a lid.
2) Sauté onions until soft, about 5 minutes.
3) Add in broth, broccoli, carrot, beans and bring to boil. Cover and simmer for 15 minutes on medium low heat.img_0011
4) Use immersion blender to purée. If you don’t have an immersion blender, cool, and then use blender to process. You might need to heat it up again before adding cheese and milk.
5) Stir in milk and cheese, reserving 2 T for garnish. Stir in spices, and season to taste with salt and pepper.
6) Top each serving with a bit of cheese. Serve hot or portion into storage containers and freeze.

Health and Joy,

alex

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

